Farruko biography

Farruko biography

Carlos Efrén Reyes Rosado, known in the musical world as Farruko, is a Puerto Rican singer of reggaeton and urban music, considered one of the young talents of the genre. He was born on May 2, 1991, in Bayamón, Puerto Rico and at an early age, he became interested in music, even without having a clear vision of the fame that awaited him.

In his time as a young man, he stayed in his hometown of Bayamón, where he studied elementary and high school. In 2007, with the clear idea of ​​being a well-known singer of the urban genre, he took his first steps in music with his first song entitled “Sexo Fuera del Planeta.” The song was the first successful step for Farruko in the reggaetón genre, so much so that he caught the attention of the product Alex Gargolas, who included it in the intro of the album Los Brothers in 2008, this was the first official participation of the singer in an official reggaeton production. His excellent musical style led him to collaborate with José Feliciano in 2010 in the song “Su Hija me gusta” and later with Daddy Yankee and Don Omar. His songs have quickly reached social and musical networks, becoming a total success and reaching records of visits.

In the year 2011, Farruko released his first album titled “El Talento del Bloque” which had 13 songs of his authorship among which stood out: “Su Hija me gusta” in collaboration with José Feliciano, “Ella es no Fácil” with Cosculluela, “Traeme a amiga” in collaboration with Arcángel and Julio Voltio,” Por Medio del Amor” with Yaga and Mackie, “Chulería en pote” with Jadiel, “Hola Beba”; “Cositas que haciamos” among others subjects that counted on the participation of artists like Daddy Yankee and Yomo.

The songs of Farruko increasingly became more popular on local and international stations, which increasingly positioned the young artist in the world of reggaeton. For May 22, 2012, the singer released his second album titled “The Most Powerful Rookie” produced under the direction of Luny Tunes and Musicologist. That album was highlighted by the combination of reggaeton with other musical genres, in the song “Feel the Rhythm” which was a kind of techno-urban. On November 15 of that same year, he was nominated for The Grammy Awards, in the category “Best Urban Album” for “The Most Powerful Rookie.”

The success of the singer remained high, after collaborating in 2013 with J Balvin in the song “6 AM” becoming one of the most played songs in Latin America and the United States.

Motivated by the great reception, Farruko launched in 2014 his song “Passion Whine” in collaboration with Sean Paul and Wisin, which stayed 26 consecutive weeks in the Latin Songs – Urban República Dominicana musical list, alternating between the first 20 positions. In that same year, he presented his album “Los menores” to the market, which produced hits like “Far from here” which reached the top 5 positions of Top Latin Songs – United States lists. In mid-2014 he also took part in a concert at the Choliseo of Puerto Rico, with the aim of promoting his album “Los menores.”

On October 23, 2015, he released his album “Visionary” which featured an excellent compendium of songs, including “Sunset” in collaboration with singers Nicky Jam and Shaggy, “Obsessed” and “Chillax” in collaboration with Ky-Mani Marley.

Farruko’s talent has allowed him to participate in collaborations with great artists such as Daddy Yankee, J Balvin, De La Ghetto, Baby Rasta & Gringo, Wisin, Yandel, Arcangel, Nicky Jam, Pitbull, Shaggy, Sean Paul, Chino & Nacho between others. It is expected that in mid-2017 his new production entitled “TrapXFicante” will be released to the market.



  • 2010 – 2011: The Block Tour Talent.
  • 2012: TMPR Tour.
  • 2013: The Empire Nazza Farruko Edition Tour.
  • 2015: The Minors Tour Bus.
  • 2016: Visionary World Tour.



  • 2010: The Talent of the Block.
  • 2012: The Most Powerful Rookie.
  • 2013: Empire Nazza Farruko Edition.
  • 2014: Farruko Presents The Minors.
  • 2015: Visionary.

Most Popular

To Top